

NSSA newsbits

At the Biennial General Meeting of the Nutrition Society of South Africa, held on Tuesday, 2 October 2012 in Bloemfontein, Prof Marius Smuts was r-eelected as President of the NSSA for the period 2012-2014. Council members for this term will be Profs Rina Swart, Lesley Bourne, Ali Dhansay, Salome Kruger, Corrina Walsh and Carin Napier, and Drs Paul van Jaarsveld, Namukolo Covic and Nazeeia Sayed. A total of 90 new members joined NSSA during 2011-2012.

At the Nutrition Congress Africa 2012 in Bloemfontein, Prof Nelia Steyn of the Human Sciences Research Council in Cape Town received the biennial Nutrition Society award for years of service to the nutrition community of South Africa. Nelia acted as mentor for numerous young nutrition scientists and supervised many

Master's and PhD students, and is the author of a large number of publications in South African and international journals. She was the driving force behind the *Community Nutrition Textbook for South Africa*. This textbook is prescribed by all universities for nutrition and dietetics students, and is the first comprehensive community nutrition textbook written by South African authors which focuses on the nutrition situation in South Africa.

The NSSA Eastern branch held a mini symposium for members in September 2012. The theme was "Ethics in communities", and four postgraduate students from Durban University of Technology presented data from four community studies that were conducted in and around Durban. This session was accredited with CEUs, and 43 ADSA and NSSA members attended the symposium.