



NSSA Council welcomes new members

The NSSA council held a meeting on the 5th of July in Johannesburg to welcome our newest council members and discuss the matters that the NSSA will be working on for the next year. The new Executive Board comprises of Dr E. Symington as President, Mrs M. Theron as Chairperson and Dr B. van der Westhuizen as treasurer.

We welcome Dr H Kesa, Prof. T van Zyl and Mrs M Jumat-Links to the Council and thank all our previous and current Council members for volunteering their time and effort in support of the NSSA. You can also view the new Council on the website link NSSA website. Among the topics discussed at the Council meeting were, plans for the National Nutrition Week, the upcoming Nutrition Congress for 2024, members who will be representing NSSA in the Federation of African Nutrition Society (FANUS), comments on the draft labelling regulations Law (R3337), and additional benefits that we envision for NSSA members.

The NSSA submitted substantial comments and recommendations on the draft labelling Law (R3337) to the Department of Health and is currently contributing to the team deciding on the messaging that will be going out to all South Africans during National Nutrition Week.



From left: Dr Naicker, Prof Oldewage-Theron, Dr van der Westhuizen, Dr Symington, Prof Walsh, Mrs Lochner, Dr Kesa, Mrs Theron. On screen: Mrs Links-Jumat and Dr van Graan